The Inheritance Games Blog Tour

Blog Tour: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – With TheWriteReads On Tour

Do you know what time it is? It’s time for another blog tour!
Welcome to my stop on the “The Inheritance Games” blog tour. This tour has also been organized by TheWriteReads and will be running for the whole month of September 2020! So what did I think about The Inheritance Games? Read on to find out.


About The Book

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into the sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

My Rating

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Book Details

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Genre: YA, Mystery & Thriller
Publisher: Penguin
Date Of Publication: 03rd September 2020
No. of Pages: 372
Format: E-ARC
Source: Blog Tour

Where do I begin to talk about The Inheritance Games? This book was not at all what I expected. It is a fast-paced mystery that keeps you wanting to know what happens next. Initially, the book felt a little bit slow and I was so close to not finishing it. But once I passed the 30% mark I could not put the book down. So if you are like me and find the first few chapters dragging on, keep going! It gets so much better!

The Inheritance Games tells us the story of Avery Grimes, a high schooler who is left in the care of her half-sister Libby after their mother passed away. Brilliant and kind, she feels she is invisible and prefers it that way. Her life changes when she is named the sole heir of Tobias Hawthorne in his will. The only problem? She has no idea who he is.

Her life takes an interesting turn when she moves into Hawthorne House and lives with his family. The old man loved his riddles and Avery learns that she has a major role to play in his last game. To solve the game she teams up with Tobias Hawthorne’s grandsons and learns some revealing truths about the family along the way.

I loved the mystery element that this book had! I found myself trying to solve the riddles before proceeding to the next page to find out if I was correct or not. The plot is gripping and holds your interest to the very last page. There are many characters in the book but each plays a unique role in the plot. The entire book mainly takes place with Avery, Jameson, and Grayson, two of Hawthorne’s grandsons. The other characters play supporting roles to the three as they make their way trying to solve the puzzle.

Final Thoughts

The book reminded me a lot about the movie Knives Out. It is a Cinderella story with a twist. It ended on a cliffhanger that makes me certain that there is a sequel on the way. The Inheritance Games is also slated to be turned into a TV show by Amazon and Sony Pictures and I cannot wait to see how that turns out! Would I recommend this book? YES!


About The Author

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) is the author of more than a dozen critically acclaimed young adult novels. She has advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science, including graduate degrees from Cambridge University, where she was a Fulbright Scholar, and Yale University, where she received her Ph.D. in 2012. Jen wrote her first published novel when she was nineteen-years-old and sold her first five books while still in college. In addition to writing YA novels, Jen has also written original pilot scripts for television networks like USA and MTV, and she is one of the world’s leading experts on the psychology of fandom and the cognitive science of fiction and the imagination more broadly. Jen is an Associate Professor at the University of Oklahoma, where she holds a dual appointment in Psychology and Professional Writing.

You can find the book available for purchase on Amazon.


Thank you so much TheWriteReads for organizing this tour. I look forward to the next! You can read my previous Blog Tour posts here:

Bloodrush by Ben Galley

The Beast And The Bethany

Make sure to check out the other entries for the blog tour on Twitter. You can find them by looking for the #TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour hashtags.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: