• These Violent Delights
    Books

    Book Review: These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

    These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong was doing the rounds on book twitter which made me request to review the book on NetGalley and oh my goodness! This book is something to look out for. Read on find out more. About The Book Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the…

  • Auxiliary London 2039 book cover
    Books

    Book Review: Auxiliary London 2039 by Jon Richter

    It has been three days since I finished reading Auxiliary: London 2039. I received the book directly from the publisher and I am so glad I read it. Thank you so much, Jon Richter and the team at TCK Publishing for sending me a copy of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed it! So what did I think about it? Read on the find out. About The Book The silicon revolution left Dremmler behind, but a good detective is never obsolete. London is quiet in 2039—thanks to the machines. People stay indoors, communicating through high-tech glasses and gorging on simulated reality while 3D printers and scuttling robots cater to their every…

  • Books

    Blog Tour: A House Is A Body by Shruti Swamy – With Algonquin Books

    Welcome to my stop on the “A House Is A Body” Blog tour! This tour was organized by Algonquin books and is my first tour with a publisher! The tour will run for ten days, from 09th August 2020 to 19th August 2020. Be sure to follow #AHouseIsABody on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook to read the other tour posts. Thank you so much Algonquin Books for sending me the book to review. Also, I cannot start this review without thanking Jas from Jas Being Jas for letting me know about the tour and helping me connect with the publishers. This post literally wouldn’t have been possible without you. So what…

  • The Switch
    Books

    Book Review: The Switch by Beth O’Leary

    I heard so much about Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare online so when I saw that NetGalley was offering The Switch for review I immediately sent in a request to read it. So what did I think about this book? Read on to find out! About The Book Eileen is sick of being 79.Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.Maybe it’s time they swapped places… When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but…

  • Geekerella by Ashley Poston
    Books

    Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

    I had no idea that Geekerella was a retelling until I read it for myself. If I knew it was a Cinderella story I would have read it sooner. I know the title is quite similar to cinderella but it never clicked in my mind before. Read on to find out what did I think about this book. About The Book Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale. Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic…

  • Girl, Serpent, Thorn
    Books

    Book Review: Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust

    I finished reading Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust yesterday and let me tell you that I am still not over it. I love fairy tales and stories that are inspired by them. About The Book There was and there was not, as all stories begin, a princess cursed to be poisonous to the touch. But for Soraya, who has lived her life hidden away, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens, it’s not just a story. As the day of her twin brother’s wedding approaches, Soraya must decide if she’s willing to step outside of the shadows for the first time. Below in the dungeon is a…

  • Descendant Of The Crane Book Cover
    Books

    Book Review: Descendant Of The Crane by Joan He

    I just finished reading this book and my mind is completely empty of thoughts. It was that good! I cannot thank NetGalley enough for granting me my request to read the advanced copy of Descendant Of The Crane. You just gave me my new favorite book! About The Book Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable…

  • Stormblood by Jeremy Szal
    Books

    Book Review: Stormblood by Jeremy Szal

    Where do I even begin to talk about Stormblood? I have hardly read any science fiction novels so this would be a first. Did I enjoy it? Read on to find out. About The Book Vakov Fukasawa used to be a Reaper, a biosoldier fighting for the intergalactic governing body of Harmony against a brutal invading empire. Now, he fights against the stormtech: the DNA of an extinct alien race Harmony injected into him, altering his body chemistry and making him permanently addicted to adrenaline and aggression. It made him the perfect soldier, but it also opened a new drug market that has millions hopelessly addicted to their own body…

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy
    Books

    Book Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

    The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes released on 19th May 2020. The idea of knowing President Snows background had intrigued me but before I dived into that book why not read The Hunger Games book series first? I had only watched the movies before and wasn’t really interested in the books when they came out. I recently found the trilogy on Kindle Unlimited and thought maybe now’s my chance to read them all and so I borrowed them. What did I think about them? And did they live up to my expectations? Read on to find out. About The Book In the ruins of a place once known as North…

  • Nightborn Jessica Thorne
    Books

    Book Review: Nightborn (Book 2 Of The Hollow King) by Jessica Thorne

    Nightborn is the sequel to Mageborn and the second book in “The Hollow King” series. I had earlier read and reviewed Mageborn on my blog so when I got the chance to read the second book I immediately requested for it. Did I enjoy it as much as the first book? Read on to find out. About The Book Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now. Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn.…