• These Violent Delights
    Books

    Book Review: These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

    These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong was doing the rounds on book twitter which made me request to review the book on NetGalley and oh my goodness! This book is something to look out for. Read on find out more. About The Book Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the…

  • The Beast And The Bethany
    Books

    Blog Tour: The Beast And The Bethany by Jack Meggitt-Phillips – With TheWriteReads On Tour

    Welcome to my stop on The Beast And The Bethany Blog Tour! This tour has been organized by TheWriteReads and will run from 12th September 2020 to 25th September 2020. Make sure to check out the other blogs taking part in this tour. And now that I have gotten that out of the way, read on to find out what did I think about “The Beast And The Bethany”. About The Book Lemony Snicket meets Roald Dahl in this riotously funny, deliciously macabre, and highly illustrated tale of a hungry beast, a vain immortal man, and a not-so-charming little girl who doesn’t know she’s about to be eaten. Beauty comes…

  • Girl, Serpent, Thorn
    Books

    Book Review: Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust

    I finished reading Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust yesterday and let me tell you that I am still not over it. I love fairy tales and stories that are inspired by them. About The Book There was and there was not, as all stories begin, a princess cursed to be poisonous to the touch. But for Soraya, who has lived her life hidden away, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens, it’s not just a story. As the day of her twin brother’s wedding approaches, Soraya must decide if she’s willing to step outside of the shadows for the first time. Below in the dungeon is a…

  • Descendant Of The Crane Book Cover
    Books

    Book Review: Descendant Of The Crane by Joan He

    I just finished reading this book and my mind is completely empty of thoughts. It was that good! I cannot thank NetGalley enough for granting me my request to read the advanced copy of Descendant Of The Crane. You just gave me my new favorite book! About The Book Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable…

  • Nightborn Jessica Thorne
    Books

    Book Review: Nightborn (Book 2 Of The Hollow King) by Jessica Thorne

    Nightborn is the sequel to Mageborn and the second book in “The Hollow King” series. I had earlier read and reviewed Mageborn on my blog so when I got the chance to read the second book I immediately requested for it. Did I enjoy it as much as the first book? Read on to find out. About The Book Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now. Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn.…

  • Books

    Book Review: The Ten Thousand Doors Of January by Alix E. Harrow

    Let me start off by saying that I had no clue about the plot before reading The Ten Thousand Doors Of January. I had seen a few bloggers rave about it online and when it did show up on my NetGalley feed while I was browsing for books, the cover instantly caught my attention. So I thought why not? Did I think I’d get accepted to read the early copy? Not at all. Am I glad that I did? Read on to find out. About The Book In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she…

  • Mageborn
    Books

    Book Review – Mageborn (Book 1 of The Hollow King) by Jessica Thorne

    I was browsing through NetGalley a few weeks ago when I came across Mageborn by Jessica Thorne. The book is the first of The Hollow King series and after reading this I cannot wait for more! About The Book The life of an orphan soldier becomes entwined with that of the mysterious heir to the throne, whose very presence draws out the secret magic living inside her: a magic that breaks every law she is duty-bound to uphold… The room is small and dark. Row upon row of jars line the shelves, each one sealed with blood-red wax. The seal’s mark is a twisted circle of briar with gleaming, gold-tipped…

  • Song of Sacrifice Janell Rhiannon
    Books

    Book Review – Song of Sacrifice by Janell Rhiannon

    The heart of the Trojan War belongs to the women.Mothers and daughters; wives and war prizes, whisper to us across time…..remember our songs alongside the mighty men of myth.As the Age of Heroes wanes, the gods gamble more fiercely with mortals’ lives than they ever have before. Women must rely on their inner strength and cunning to survive the wars men wage for gold and glory.Clytemnestra of Mycenae struggles for control of her life after Agamemnon ruthlessly rips it apart. Leda of Sparta survives a brutal assault by Zeus, shouldering a terrible secret in silence. Penelope raises Ithaka’s sole heir alone, praying for Odysseus’ swift return. Thetis, the sea nymph,…

  • A Darker Shade of Magic VE Schwab
    Books

    Book Review – A Darker Shade Of Magic by V.E Schwab

    Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black. Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, travelling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand. After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes…

  • Bloodrush-Blog Tour Banner
    Books

    ULTIMATE BLOG TOUR| Book Review – Bloodrush by Ben Galley

    After a very successful first round earlier this year, the ULTIMATE BLOG TOUR is back. And this time, it is even bigger and so much better! This tour is organised by TheWriteReads and I am so excited to be a part of it this time. The Ultimate Blog Tour aims to be the biggest book blog tour in the world with over 100 bloggers from around the world taking part! There were FOUR different books up for grabs this time out of which I chose to review “Bloodrush” by Ben Galley. So what did I think about the book? Read on to find out. When Prime Lord Hark is found in a…