• These Violent Delights
    Books

    Book Review: These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

    These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong was doing the rounds on book twitter which made me request to review the book on NetGalley and oh my goodness! This book is something to look out for. Read on find out more. About The Book Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the…

  • Descendant Of The Crane Book Cover
    Books

    Book Review: Descendant Of The Crane by Joan He

    I just finished reading this book and my mind is completely empty of thoughts. It was that good! I cannot thank NetGalley enough for granting me my request to read the advanced copy of Descendant Of The Crane. You just gave me my new favorite book! About The Book Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable…

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy
    Books

    Book Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

    The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes released on 19th May 2020. The idea of knowing President Snows background had intrigued me but before I dived into that book why not read The Hunger Games book series first? I had only watched the movies before and wasn’t really interested in the books when they came out. I recently found the trilogy on Kindle Unlimited and thought maybe now’s my chance to read them all and so I borrowed them. What did I think about them? And did they live up to my expectations? Read on to find out. About The Book In the ruins of a place once known as North…

  • Mageborn
    Books

    Book Review – Mageborn (Book 1 of The Hollow King) by Jessica Thorne

    I was browsing through NetGalley a few weeks ago when I came across Mageborn by Jessica Thorne. The book is the first of The Hollow King series and after reading this I cannot wait for more! About The Book The life of an orphan soldier becomes entwined with that of the mysterious heir to the throne, whose very presence draws out the secret magic living inside her: a magic that breaks every law she is duty-bound to uphold… The room is small and dark. Row upon row of jars line the shelves, each one sealed with blood-red wax. The seal’s mark is a twisted circle of briar with gleaming, gold-tipped…